kit report 19/20th jan

well my final weight of my pack not including food or water was 9 kg.i carried 3.75 litres of water as there are no real clean water sources on the forest and i had 1.5 kg of food.It seems my pack was on the heavy side for a overnight trip but it has been over 4 months since i have been out walking so it needs refining and also i was carrying a winter pack ie heavier sleeping bag and a few extra bit of clothing for warmth if needed.
So ill start with the shelter and sleeping system.I took my integral designs siltarp which once again kept me dry and sheltered and being smaller than a bag of sugar and weighing 200g i don’t think i could get a better tarp especially as it only cost £55 and a lighter option would be a lot more.The new guy lines and micro locks work well and again are lighter than my old para cord ones.I used mt PHD minium 500 bag and was very impressed.It was not really cold but the wind was blowing and i remained nice and snug all night.I hope i get a chance to use it in sub zero temperatures sometime this year.I also used my alpkit hunka bivy bag and once again its not the lightest option but at £25 a great bargain and it keeps me dry when its damp out.
Next up is the rucksack.I took my new Gregory Z55 which Backpackinglight.co.uk had kindly sent me as a replacement for the Gregory Zpack which had decided to unravel on me.The new and improved pack felt great.It now has a new back system which kept my back free of sweat and also it now comes with hip belt pockets which where missing on the old model and are very useful.Its not the lightest pack out there but it carries the load well and is very stable.The only down side is that they have made the top pocket a little bit smaller.My large size weighs in at 1650 grams.
Clothing is up next and i will give a list of items taken and used,ill start with items worn-
trousers-Earth,sea andsummit trekking trousers[bought in NZ] 245g
baselayer- helly hansen long sleeve lifa top 160g
socks – smart wool calf length 91g
wind shirt – montane featherlight wind shirt 113g
hat – mountain hardwear windbloc beanie 40g
waterproofs – jacket- montane 200 260g
waterproof trousers which i wore in camp – montane atomic pants 164g
insulation – rab generator top 305g
 camp wear – silk top 105g
silk long johns 109g
other items carried western mountaineering down gillet[169g],buffalo mitts[75g]extremities baselayer gloves[30g]bridgestone socks[86g]gaiters[63g]gortex socks[87g used in camp]
the rest of the kit was made up of,
stove- msr pocket rocket[85g]
tibetean 900 pot[96g]
snowpeak ti mug[78g]
wooden spoon[15g]
mugmate[18g]
pot cosy[34g]
torch[75g]
copmpass[40g]
knife[102g]
spares+1st aid kit[225g]
wash kit[164g]
well thats about it iam sure ive missed somethings out but ive got most of the main kit in.
 
This entry was posted in kit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

